A Private Affair

5 Jan

Hello there, hive!

I’ve answered the who and what of our wedding, but I have yet to address the where. And here is where I run into a wee problem. I don’t feel like sharing this bit of information. I’m not trying snobby about it at all. I just feel like our venue is unique in comparison to the traditional venues in the Fresno area, and I’d rather that detail be saved for our guests to enjoy the day of. I’m not under any impression that we’re the only couple getting married here, because that’s most definitely not the case. I just don’t want to share. That’s all there is to it 🙂 With that said, I will describe it as best as I can (and just maybe give you a small sneak preview of it).

So… our big day will be celebrated at a lovely private residence. Yes, we are having a backyard wedding! When we went for our initial tour, I thought about it for about one hot second before deciding that it had to be it. I knew the moment I saw it that this was going to be where we said our wedding vows. It has a unique charm, complete with tons of overgrown trees, fountains!, and the most gorgeous flowers I’ve ever seen. Luckily for our wedding budget, the gorgeous ambiance of the backyard will allow us to somewhat skimp on our flowers. Don’t get me wrong, we’re still getting flowers. I love flowers, but it’s not high on my priority list. Here’s a picture I found early on in the planning process that has remained my inspiration (you may recognize this from a previous post).

{Source}

This the the look I hope to accomplish on our big day. I’m not all that concerned with the types of flowers; hell, I don’t even care what color they are. Do you know what I mean, or do you think I’m crazy?

Here are some more fabulous details about this fabulous place:

  • The backyard is actually split up into two separate areas, allowing us to have our ceremony in one part, while the second part is already set up for the reception. No down time! Yay!
  • There are a few super secret nooks (they really aren’t that secret at all) so we can steal away during the reception to get a few minutes to ourselves 🙂
  • There is no middle aisle. You may think this is odd, because I sure did. But after thinking about it, it’s actually going to work out really well. There are two aisles (one on either side of the ceremony) one for the guys to walk down, and one for the gals.
  • Big downer: we have no backup plan if the weather is less than favorable. So we’re accepting prayers and happy thoughts for picture perfect May weather!

That’s all for now. But because I love you, I’ll give you a sneak peak!

{This is what guests will see when they approach the house. It’s so unassuming!}

{Here I’m standing in the entry of the reception, looking into the ceremony spot! Both personal photos.}

What do you think? I know I haven’t given you much to work with, but trust me when I say it’s an incredible venue. Did you get that feeling when you first saw your wedding venue? And what are your thoughts on an outdoor wedding with zero backup plan? Yikes! (I think I say Yikes! too much.)

Leave a Reply

