A Cake Topper Dilemma

12 Jan

Why do I feel like so many bees have posted about cake toppers lately? Miss Hippo, I feel ya. Miss Panther, just adorable. And lest we not forget Miss Lox, whose post had me giddy with excitement to press the “Read more…” button.

When looking at the big picture of a wedding, it seems so silly to spend more than a few minutes giving this a thought. But alas, I’ve joined the club. The Cake Toppers Are Consuming My Life Club. I’m such an exaggerator.

Let’s talk about sweets!

Confession: I don’t really like cake. And I absolutely hate fondant. When I go to weddings I never even take one bite. With that said, I do like confetti cake. I’m talking the kind in the box with the jar of confetti frosting. So swanky.

Well, we’ve decided that we’re going to have a dessert bar at the wedding for a few reasons:

  1. They’re adorable and can be done in many wonderful ways.
  2. I’ve been to a couple weddings with a dessert bar and I’m always pleasantly surprised at the various choices.
  3. I don’t like cake, as previously mentioned.

But, Mr. Oatmeal likes cake. And what kind of cake does he like? Confetti cake. So we’re going to have a small, two-tier confetti cake for cutting in addition to all the goodies at the table. Here’s what I have in mind:

{Source}

{Source, Source}

Don’t you just love how these look? The first picture has a cake that’s about the size I want. It’s so gosh darn cute. But here’s where I run into a problem: most cake toppers I’ve come across are terrible. Want proof?

{Source}

I’m sure this cake topper has a time and a place. But I’m sorry to say that’s not at our wedding. I’m exaggerating a bit since they aren’t all this awful, but I still haven’t been able to find anything I love. Maybe I need to make one. The thing is, I have no idea what I want, I just have tons of ideas of what I don’t want. But here are a few that have caught my eye:

{Source}

{Source}

{Source}

What are your thoughts? And, really, why are these things so expensive?

Leave a Reply

