Compromising Registries

12 Jan

Today I’m going to talk about something that gets me pretty excited, and I can’t be the only one out there: gift registries! Mr. Oatmeal and I have decided to do this in a pretty traditional way by registering for the things needed to start our home and lives together. Have I mentioned that we just bought a house? More details on that later!

Anyhow, we’ve narrowed down our registry to two places: Williams-Sonoma and Pottery Barn. I understand that these are fairly common choices, so I want to talk more about Mr. Oatmeal. He says these registries are for me, and me only. I’m the only one who will be happy to receive products from these stores, and he doesn’t think that’s very fair. And guess what? I agree. I know Mr. Oatmeal. I know him so well. And he won’t have the same warm fuzzy feeling inside when opening up, let’s say, this little gem:

{Source}

Or, maybe this.

{Source}

I could go on and on, but I’ll spare you.

So we’ve come to, what we think, is a great compromise. We’re still going to register at both stores mentioned above for home and kitchen goodies. But we’re also adding Sears into the mix! You see, Mr. Oatmeal is a guys guy. He likes all things manly, and even if he doesn’t know how to fix something, he sure as hell will figure it out. I love that about him. So our Sears registry will help him build a collection of tools he’ll likely keep forever.

{Source}

Win-win-win. Don’t ya think?

Are you registering for gifts? If so, how did you choose where? Did you throw something new into the mix, too?

Leave a Reply

