Ring-a-Ding-Ding

16 Jan

I have received a few requests to see the little piece of loveliness that has made its home on my left hand, so now I’m delivering.

Mr. Oatmeal and I went ring shopping just once at the beginning of 2010. We went to three different jewelers in town and I tried on oodles and oodles of gorgeous rings. He knew I’d be pretty picky about what I wanted, so this was just what worked best for us. I had it narrowed down to two different settings, and they couldn’t have been more different! The decision was left up to him and he knew that I’d be ecstatic with either. He, of course, chose the center diamond himself and did a lovely job!

The ring he proposed with (if we’re being honest, here) was the one I really had my heart set on. And here it is. 🙂

Isn’t it lovely? Here are a few things that I adore about it:

  • It’s yellow gold. I love how it looks on my skin tone, but I mostly love how rare it is to have yellow gold as a new bride these days.
  • It’s timeless. My ring reminds me of something that my dad could have proposed with in 1979. It isn’t the least bit trendy and I know I’ll love and appreciate it forever.
  • The side diamonds. The side diamonds are tension setting, so that when you look at it from the side, they’re just floating.
  • It sparkles. Obvious, I know. But because of the way the diamonds are set, the light reflects under the diamonds to make them sparkle just that much more.

{All personal photos}

Excuse the lint on the ring in one picture…it’s desperate for a cleaning.

And there you have it. Is there anything unconventional about your ring that you absolutely adore? And did you have a say in which ring it would be, or did you leave it completely up to your other half?

Leave a Reply

