Guest Book(s), and The Gift Part 2

26 Jan

I’ve noticed a major downside to having a fairly lengthy engagement. And that is, you make many decisions early on in the engagement, thinking you’re being original. Then as the months go by and you continue to obsess over wedding blogs on a daily basis, you find that so many of these details are popping up in dozens and dozens of other weddings.

I’m not, however, going to let this discourage me from using the ideas I originally dreamed up. Not to say I made them up, of course. I was simply inspired before they made  it to the big time.

So what’s a prime example of this? The gorgeous and wonderfully “unique” wedding tree.

{Bleu de toi on Etsy}

I’m sure you’re all at least mildly familiar with this idea by now, and hell, The Oatmeals are still going to roll with it. I don’t care how many people have done it before us, it won’t take away from us having one all our own.

Luckily, Bridesmaid Oatmeal L is a freakin’ awesomely talented artist and has gladly taken on this project for us. I’d post a picture of her rough draft, but the reality is I don’t have one yet. She sent me a picture on my phone months ago but now I can’t find it. Bust. However, I assure you it’s going to be perfect. Now I just need to find a super cool antique looking frame to display it in…

You see the little names on each thumbprint up there? Well, we’re not going to do that. Thumb prints only. It’ll keep it cleaner looking, I think. So, won’t we miss out on our guests writing us well wishes? We’ve got that covered, too!

Remember this post about the most amazing gift ever received? That will serve as our main guest book for family and friends to write sweet little notes of looooove to us 🙂 And without further ado, here are really crappy pictures of the guest book full of our seriously awesome engagement pictures taken from Brother Oatmeal (really, these photos don’t do it justice, friends…)

{Really crappy photos taken by me, of SUPER AWESOME engagement photos taken by RCJones Photography}

And there you have it! I can’t wait to show you our actual engagement photos instead of pictures of pictures. Those are coming up real soon!

Are you having two guest books at your wedding, both accomplishing different things? It may be overkill, but it’s so, so “us.”

I’m excited to hear what ya think!

Leave a Reply

