THE Shoes

14 Feb

Why oh why are we so obsessed with our shoes? I suppose that question could be posed to most women in general, without regard to weddings. Maybe that’s why our wedding shoes become such an ordeal. A mission. An obsession. But, they’re sooooooo pretty, so why wouldn’t we be completely overwhlemed by wedding shoe goodness?

Once I saw THE shoes, there wasn’t really a question of whether or not I was going to get them. I came across these lovelies on some fashion blog (this was so long ago I honestly don’t remmeber where). Then I started doing some research. And then…I found them. I FOUND THEM. At Barneys. The only problem about that is we don’t have a Barneys in Fresno, so I would have to purchase them online. No big deal. The next day I went to do just that, and guess what? They were “no longer available.” I’m sorry, they’re WHAT? So I thought long and hard about it, took it as a sign that spending that kind of money on wedding shoes was a complete joke, and went along my merry way. Ha. Yeah right.

I mentioned to my wedding coordinator in passing that I had found the world’s most gorgeous shoes and that they were no longer available. And then, it snowballed. Her sister works in the fashion industry in San Francisco, who promptly called Barneys, located them in my size, and emailed me the contact information of the person to call to place the order through. Huh? You mean I’m really going to have to commit to spending that kind of money on a pair of shoes? It was too late. I had to do it. Twist my arm, why don’t ya.

But I was so, so apprehensive. And then something amazing happened. You see, I have an aunt, who also happens to be my Godmother. She’s an incredible woman who I am so blessed to have in my life; truly a second mother who means everything to me. She was visiting that weekend and asked to see a picture of these shoes that my mom told her about. So I showed her, and said, sadly, that I didn’t think I could commit to spending the money on them. What was her response? “No, you can’t. But I can. I’m getting you those shoes, mija, because those are the shoes you have to wear on your wedding day.”

I know you’re thinking, “Stop talking, Oatmeal, and show us these shoes!” Okay, feast your eyes on Miu Miu’s Glitter Ankle Strap Wedge in Nude:

{The Nichols Photography found via Demoiselle}

I found them being worn by another absolutely stunning bride a few months after I placed my order for them.

{Heather P. Moore Photography found via Once Wed}

And here’s a few taken of them on me. Excuse the crappy iPhone photos, as well as my sock lines. It’s so hard to take pictures of yourself in shoes that are worthy of blog posting.

{Personal photos}

They are so much more than I thought I’d get to wear for the big day, and for that, I am truly thankful to my beautiful Godmother. I simply can’t wait, hive.

Did you also encounter a few bumps on the road to wedding shoe perfection?

Leave a Reply

